One Nasty Bug Bite

There’s a crazy illness being spread among millennials, and it’s caused by a bug with no known antidote. It’s called the travel bug.*

As a twenty-something, I know all about this so-called travel bug. Once I got the adrenaline rush of landing in a foreign country with the promise of exciting, unknown and untold adventures, I couldn’t stop chasing this feeling.

Luckily, there is a temporary cure for this, and it only requires one simple step – pick a destination and go. Whether it’s a new park or a new country, the excitement of seeing something for the first time helps quench the thirst to travel.

“You’re really going to travel by yourself all around Europe? Aren’t you afraid? I couldn’t do that. You must be crazy!”

If that’s crazy, I don’t want to be sane.

After hearing these sentiments in many different forms, I have to admit that I started to second-guess my decision to go abroad by myself for two months. This being said, I really only thought twice about doing so for a minute. I’ve always loved to travel, and I had to take this opportunity and run (or fly, boat, and train-ride) with it. Some wonder why I don’t just wait until I’m older, or take time off of work to travel. I’ve learned over the years that opportunities like this won’t wait for me, so I had to go for it while I still could.
I thought I’d use this post as an introduction, so here it goes. As many of you may know (as I expect just my family, relatives, and a handful of friends will actually read this), my name is Ian and I’m a recent college grad from Ohio. For someone who loves traveling, I really didn’t foresee spending my time after college in the same state I grew up and went to college in. However, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to have time off after graduation to travel before starting work, so here I am!

This page will serve as a way to update everyone as to where I am in the world, and give tips to traveling and doing so alone. I want to prove that when there’s a will, there’s a way. Anyone can travel, and it doesn’t have to break the bank. Follow along to see how. Thanks for reading.

*Apologies for the Dad joke, I promise it won’t be the last one you see on here.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mary Lou Reckner says:

    Enjoy Ian. Stay safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

