Imagine

“Imagine all the people,
Living life in peace.
You may say I’m a dreamer,
But I’m not the only one”

-John Lennon, Imagine.

People ask me all of the time if I’m afraid to travel to new places and by myself.

There’s so much violence over there, are you sure it’s safe?”

No. I’m really not sure it’s safe. But more and more I find that I feel safer abroad than I do in my own country. It’s a hard feeling to face, but it’s one that can’t be ignored. In the wake of the tragedy in Orlando and countless other mass shootings that have happened recently, I felt the need to share my thoughts.

I sadly know the feeling of losing someone too young, too soon. Today 50 people in Orlando were taken from their families, loved ones, and the world for a senseless reason. Although my experience is far different from what these people are going through, I know the pain and anger of losing a life that was so bright and had so much more time to shine. It’s important to mourn these people. The sadness will not subside anytime soon. What I do hope for our world is that we make this “debate” of gun laws, terrorism, mental health, or whatever it may be, and take it into action. How many more tragedies do we have to sit back and watch unfold before we do something?

I know there is no clear cut answer. I know there will always be people out there wishing to harm others. And I do believe in our Constitution, but where does this end?

The problem isn’t just overseas, it’s in our backyard. It’s at our dance clubs, in our schools, and in our streets. I strongly urge those that read this, that feel empathy for those who have lost a loved one in this tragedy, to do something. It could be as simple as writing a letter to your state representative. We are power in numbers, and the more people that write, the louder our voice.

Let us not continue to sit back and talk about these events, waiting for the next one to happen. Let’s take our sadness, our anger, and seek a change. And until then, I will continue to live and travel and experience the world, imagining and working to create a better place where we can all live as one.

Leave a Reply

