Raise a Glass

“So raise a glass to turnings of the season,
And watch it as it arcs towards the sun”

-The Decemberists, Don’t Carry it All

As I sit here listening to music in perfect autumn weather in my new backyard, I can’t help but think of how good life is. I have just finished a trip I’ve dreamed of for years, I have a new charming place to call home, and I am once again surrounded by old friends. Lately I find myself just sitting back and smiling, being so thankful for all that I have right now. It’s amazing how a little determination, a strong support system, and hard work can take you places you can only imagine.

putting the new house together

After being home for a few weeks from my trip around the globe, I have been able to reflect a bit on all that I have seen and have learned. I have gained a sense of independence that I did not know before, a comfort with being alone and appreciating the world around me. I also have found that I like to take a step back from my life in moments of happiness and really take it all in. I used to get so swept up in the moment that I would forget to appreciate how great it was.
With this new sense of independence and self-confidence, I find myself hungry to grow, learn, and become the best person I can be. There’s something about a new start in a new place that lends itself to reinvention and self improvement. The crisp fall air and the changing leaves remind me that time keeps running fast, and that I need to live in the moment.

Old friends reunited

So here’s to new starts, new seasons, and continued happiness. Cheers.

my lovely new home
One Comment Add yours

  1. Julie K. Rubini says:

    Nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

